A Juicy Burger


I’ve always loved a juicy burger. Little did I know how much I’d come to depend on them while on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD). I eat one every day and I still look forward to it! I pair my patties with tasty side dishes. Avocado and butternut squash really complement ground beef.

I’m not alone in my frequent hamburger-eating. A third of all Americans have consumed ground beef in the last 24 hours.

In the past, I didn’t cook very many of them myself. I mostly ate hamburgers at restaurants and fast food joints. My favorite places included The Habit, In and Out Burger, Wood Ranch Grill. But since I began the SCD, I’ve stayed away from dining establishments and have had the opportunity to hone my skills on my griddle.

Lately I watched an old episode of Good Eats which was all about hamburgers. Alton Brown reviewed his Burger Rules.

Burger Rule #1: No patty smashing.

I definitely agree. Once you’ve placed the formed hamburger on the griddle, do not press down on the patty with your spatula. This only forces liquid out of your meat, onto the cooking surface. This produces a drier hamburger.

Burger Rule #2: One flip only.

According to Alton, cook one side of the burger, then the other, then take it off the griddle. People who believe in the One Flip Only rule cite more even cooking and better flavor development. But, sorry Alton, I don’t agree with this one. If a cook flips the burger more than once, say very minute or every 30 seconds, the burger cooks more quickly and there is less overcooked meat. If faster flipping will get me out of the kitchen faster, I’m all for it!

My only Burger Rule is: enjoy it.  YUM!

2 Comments

Filed under The Griddle

2 responses to “A Juicy Burger

  1. Chris

    great post babe and the site/blog looks great too! xoxoxoxox

  2. Sarah Bosse

    I love love love love love…..oh, did I say I *LOOOOOVE* my George Foreman grill? I should do a post…perhaps an ODE to my GF grill on Naturally Gutsy. 😉 See…you gave me a great idea! 😀

Leave a Reply

