Cookbook Infatuation

I have an infatuation with cookbooks.

I page through the cookbooks and take in the glossy pictures. I eat with my eyes; the sloppy hamburger dripping with condiments, the street food flecked with spices and the decadent, thick slices of chocolate cake. The authors tell stories through food. If I am careful to pay attention, the cook tells me who they are, what they believe and about their point of view. I enjoy being swept up in their journey.

Some of my favorite books are by Ina Garten, a.k.a. the Barefoot Contessa. I love her dedication to simple, delicious meals. And I always like to see the pictures of her table covered in plates of food, graced with beautiful flowers and smiling guests all around. Her cookbooks are essentially about life with her husband, a few trips to France and dinners and parties with friends. I don’t make much from these cookbooks anymore, unless I’m preparing something devine for my husband. I plan on keeping them, even though I’m on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD), because I am attached. Who knows, I adapt a few of the recipes to be SCD-legal.

I also own Eat Well Feel Well by Kendall Conrad and Recipes for the Specific Carbohydrate Diet by Prasad. I ordered them from Amazon together with Breaking the Vicious Cycle when I first began my odyssey on the SCD. While in the introductory phase of the diet, I’d salivate over the pictures and make plans for upcoming dinners. I read snippets of these cookbooks and celebrated the authors’ successes on the SCD. I am deeply grateful for the hope they’ve given me.  Sadly, I didn’t realize that I needed to heal before I’d be ready to eat these foods, but I am so looking forward to that day!

xo,

Theresa

2 Comments

Filed under Beginning, Blog

2 responses to “Cookbook Infatuation

  1. Sarah Bosse

    When I read through too many cookbooks, that all-important sense of contentment tends to fly out the window and I’m stuck drooling over things that are too advanced (I tend only to really drool over SCD legal recipes anyways…but most are off limits to me) for my gut. Then again, sometimes I come up with something new that I *love*! 🙂 Win some, lose some…

  2. I can totally relate. I have acquired quite a collections of cookbooks. I pick them up anywhere (thrift stores, library book sales and amazon). I’m particularly fond of amazon’s wish list feature; it keeps a running tab of all the ones I’m dreaming about.

Leave a Reply

