Fructose Malabsorption Series Part 2: My Fast from Fruit

In part 1 of this series, I wrote about being on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) and still having intestinal issues.

Fructose Malabsorption (FM) is the decreased ability to absorb fructose in the small intestine. As a result, there is undigested fructose in the gut, which in turn causes an overgrowth of bacteria in the small intestine. Just to reiterate, fructose is a monosaccharide, a simple sugar that is found in fruits, vegetables and honey. It is  abundant in high fructose corn syrup and granulated fructose, both of which are illegal on SCD.

After a process of elimination, I realized that I was suffering from FM. Apparently, this is a common problem among people with irritable bowel syndrome and inflammatory bowel disease. So I searched for answers. My research turned up a few internet websites that listed the fructose quantities in both fruits and vegetables. However, the measured levels weren’t consistent from site to site. They weren’t even close.

Well, of course! Amounts of fructose differ according to ripeness, fertilizer levels in the soil, even the type of soil the plant is grown in effects the fruits and veggies.

When I was about to give up, I discovered a chart published by the American Dietic Association that gave broad recommendations. This is what I needed!

I’ve altered them to be SCD-legal. Here they are:

 

 

 

In order to relieve my symptoms, I modified what I ate and fasted from fruit.

I cut all honey, fruit, and almost all vegetables  out of my diet. Essentially, I consumed mostly protein for a few days. And you know what?

I began to feel better.

Since then, I’ve found that when my meals consist of mostly protein, low-fructose vegetables and fruit (occasionally goat’s milk yogurt), I feel great. I am careful to keep the fruit at very limited quantities because it makes me hyper. I am careful to watch phenol levels in fruits and veggies, too, which also effect me from time to time.

If you are also on the SCD and you are still experiencing problems, I urge you to try your own fast from fruit.

It is difficult because it is July and there is tons of excellent fruit in the markets, but it could make a huge difference in your life. It has in mine.

xo,

~Theresa, SCD Griddle

*Don’t confuse fructose malabsorption with hereditary fructose intolerance, which is totally different. Hereditary fructose intolerance is a rare genetic disorder in which the individual lacks the protein needed to break down fructose. The problem is obvious when the individual is a newborn.

Photo credit: http://www.thekitchn.com

8 Comments

Filed under Beginning, Blog

8 responses to “Fructose Malabsorption Series Part 2: My Fast from Fruit

  1. Hi There,

    So happy to find your blog tonight. Hello from another SCD blogger!!!

    Be Well,
    –Amber

  2. Would love for you to share this information on my weekly link party: Allergy-Free Wednesdays. We go live every Tuesday night. I share this link party with 6 other bloggers. 🙂

    If you’re interested, here’s the link to last week’s post:
    http://www.thetastyalternative.com/2012/07/allergy-free-wednesdays-week-26-july-18.html

    Hope to see you there!

    Be Well,
    –Amber

  3. what a great post! i just did the opposite – i’ve fasted from fruit for 3 months on the Body Ecology Diet, and I just began to add it back in 3 days ago — we’ll see how my body reacts!

  4. Cary

    I think I may have found my problem on SCD. I know I have been eating a lot of fruit. It has been my treat on SCD. Not sure how to limit the fruit since I can’t stand to eat so much meat. I will have to give it a try though. Thanks for your blog and post!

Leave a Reply

